Community Benefit
Print

Community benefits are clinical or non-clinical programs or activities providing treatment and/or promoting health and healing that are responsive to identified community needs, not provided for marketing purposes. Community benefits meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Generate a low or negative margin
  • Respond to needs of special populations, such as minorities, frail elderly, poor persons with disabilities, chronically mentally ill and other disenfranchised persons
  • Supply services or programs that would likely be discontinued (or would need to be provided by another not-for-profit or government provider) if the decision were made on a purely financial basis
  • Involve education or research that improves overall community health.

Community Benefit Objectives

  • Address Community Need
  • Improve Access to Health Services
  • Enhance Population Health
  • Advance Knowledge; and/or
  • Demonstrate Charitable Purpose

Community Benefit Toolkit

Increased community benefit reporting is on the horizon. The Kansas Hospital Association has created the Community Benefit resources below to help Kansas hospitals in our efforts to get in front of the curve on community benefit reporting. These documents can be downloaded and customized for your individual hospital. If you would like more information about our statewide community benefit efforts or have questions about the CBISA web-based reporting tool, please contact Audrey Dunkel at (785) 233-7436.

*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.