State Medicaid Incentives

Kansas Medicaid EHR Incentive Program

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs provide incentive payments to eligible professionals, eligible hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals as they adopt, implement, upgrade or demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology. Kansas Medicaid incentives allow for three payments that do not have to be in consecutive years. Providers who skip years of participation will resume the progression of Meaningful Use where they left off. All providers are required to meet two years of Stage 1 in their first two years of MU and then proceed to Stage 2, regardless of not participating in consecutive years. Providers who demonstrated MU in 2011 are the exception in that they need not move to Stage 2 until 2014. After 2016, eligible hospitals must have participated in the previous year in order to receive a payment.

Medicaid EHR Incentive Calculator

Hospitals that begin participation in 2013 and later can now use the most recent continuous 12-month period for which data are available prior to the payment year. Hospitals that began participation in the program prior to the Stage 2 Rule do not have to change previous calculations. Only Medicaid discharges and ER encounters are counted.

Patient volume calculations also now include zero paid claims. A zero paid claim is defined as any encounter with a Medicaid-eligible person on the date of service, regardless of whether the claim was actually submitted to or denied by Medicaid. Here is the 2013 revised calculator: New Revised Medicaid EHR Incentive calculator.

Patient Volume Requirements Fact Sheet

Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Kansas Health Information Technology and Health Information Exchange is now part of the KDHE Division of Health Care Finance, formerly known as Kansas Health Policy Authority.

Please submit your Kansas Medicaid HIT questions to: Christina Rondash

If you have questions or need additional information regarding heath information technology, please contact Melissa Hungerford, Mary Matzke or Sally Perkins at (785) 233-7436.

*
*
   
For more information regarding the KHEA Educational Program, contact Donna Wills at dwills@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this webinar, contact Michele Clark at HHC at (785) 235-0763 or mclark@khconline.org.
For more information regarding the KHHRA Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KONL Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Deborah Stern (dstern@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KAHCC Educational Program, contact Jan Fenwick (jfenwick@kha-net.org or Cindy Samuelson (csamuelson@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.