Discharges and Inpatient Days by Payer
Print

DISTRIBUTION OF DISCHARGES AND INPATIENT DAYS BY PAYER | 2013

In FY2013, the Federal programs Medicare and Medicaid combined to cover over 55 percent of the discharges from community hospitals in Kansas. In addition, the number of Medicare inpatient days is over 61 percent of the inpatient days in Kansas.

In the Federal Fiscal Year 2012 Medicare Provider Analysis and Review (MEDPAR) data file produced by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, there were 141,975 Medicare discharges from 151  Kansas facilities. The total charges for these discharges were $5,235,664,272and total interim payments were $1,160,267,619. The interim payment to charges ratio was 22.2 percent; the average charge per discharge was $36,877.

DISTRIBUTION OF KANSAS DISCHARGES BY PAYER

 

SOURCE: Kansas Hospital Association FFY 2013, Kansas Inpatient Database

 

 SOURCE: Kansas Hospital Association FFY 2013, Kansas Inpatient Database

*
*
   
For more information regarding this meeting, contact Susan Cunningham at (785) 233-7436 or scunningham@kha-net.org.
For more information on the KHA Board Meeting, contact Amy Fluke at afluke@kha-net.org or (785) 233-7436
For more information regarding the KHSC Board Meeting, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show, contact the KHA Education Department, (Chrisy Madden: cmadden@kha-net.org, Jennifer Findley: jfindley@kha-net.org) (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding this event, contact Amy Fluke, (785) 233-7436 or afluke@kha-net.org.