



For Immediate Release Contact - Cindy Samuelson <u>csamuelson@kha-net.org</u> (785) 233-7436

Scholarships are a part of the legacy of this 50-year-old foundation

(July 30, 2019) – The Kansas Hospital Education and Research Foundation is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. KHERF's objective is to facilitate collaboration and innovation to improve health delivery for Kansas communities with a focus on effective leadership, shared knowledge and leveraged resources. Since its founding in 1969, KHERF has played a key role in many projects important to Kansas hospitals.

One important program of KHERF is its successful scholarship program, now in its 18th year. This year, KHERF, along with the Kansas Hospital Human Resources Association and the Kansas Association of Health Care Executives, provided 27 scholarships totaling \$25,000. KHERF received 69 applications for these awards.

The following were awarded a scholarship to assist in pursuing excellence in their health care career:

Advanced Clinical Practice Awardees (\$1,000 scholarships):

- Adele Bohn, Labette Health, Parsons
- Korissa Gillespie, Stormont Vail Health, Topeka
- Rebecca Ludwig, The University of Kansas Health System, Kansas City
- Lauren Mitchell, Children's Mercy Hospital Kansas, Overland Park
- Ruth Penny, Children's Mercy Hospital Kansas, Overland Park
- Rachelle Sims, Memorial Health System, Abilene
- Emily Trester, Children's Mercy Hospital Kansas, Overland Park

<u>Undergraduate Nursing Awardees (</u>\$1,000 scholarships):

- Justin Blythe, Medicalodges Inc., Pittsburg
- Jaycee Burghart, McPherson Hospital, Inc., McPherson
- Taylor Crabill, Hodgeman County Health Center, Jetmore
- Alexis Karst, Lincoln County Hospital, Lincoln
- Joslyn Ketzner, Cheyenne County Hospital, Saint Francis
- Cody Maloney, Wilson Medical Center, Neodesha
- Brianna Martinson, Hiawatha Community Hospital, Hiawatha
- Lisa Melton, Republic County Hospital, Belleville
- Allyssa Miller, Graham County Hospital, Hill City
- Mackenzie Moore, Holton Community Hospital, Holton
- Sarah Peters, Children's Mercy Hospital, Kansas City
- Ayten Shah, Children's Mercy Hospital, Kansas City
- Cali Smith, Holton Community Hospital, Holton
- Jessica Younkman, Memorial Health System, Abilene

Undergraduate Health Care Awardees (\$1,000 scholarships):

- Caleb Coble, Newman Regional Health, Emporia
- Benjamin Leone, Lexington Park Health and Rehab, Topeka

Human Resource Awardees (KHHRA) (\$500 scholarships):

- Jana Mott, Kiowa District Healthcare, Kiowa
- Amy Seaman, Pratt Regional Medical Center, Pratt

Health Care Administration Awardees (KAHCE) (\$500 scholarships):

- Charlotte Peterson, Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center, Chanute
- Aimee Zimmerman, Logan County Health Services, Oakley

Congratulations to the recipients and their hospitals. More on the KHERF Scholarship Program can be found at <u>www.kherf.org</u>

Established in 1969, by the Kansas Hospital Association, the Kansas Hospital Education and Research Foundation's mission is to facilitate collaboration and innovation to improve health delivery for Kansas communities. KHERF leverages grants and other funding to support projects in the areas of health care delivery redesign, the development of future health care workers, serving the aging population, and behavioral health in primary care.

#