Charles S. Billings Award


Charles S. Billings Award
Print this page.Print

Charles S. Billings 2017 Award Winner

Steve Kelly
Newton Medical Center











Who Is Charles S. Billings

In 1939, Charles S. Billings began serving as the Kansas Hospital Association's first president. Billings served in this role until he retired from KHA in 1962. In 1971, the Charles S. Billings Award was established to honor Billings' dedication and years of service to Kansans. His character inspired the inscription on the award, which reads, "For distinguished service and outstanding contributions to the health care of Kansans." KHA reserves this award for those who have truly shown their commitment, leadership and dedication to that noble pursuit.

Purpose of the Award

The Billings Award is the top honor given by KHA. Individuals are recognized as hospital leaders who have dedicated their working lives to hospitals and health care. The award recognizes a hospital leader for his or her lifetime of service and continuing contribution to the health care of Kansas.


Nominees should demonstrate the following characteristics: Commitment and excellence in service to Kansas hospitals; Leadership on a local, state and national level; and Service to Kansas hospitals through KHA board, council and/or committee participation.


Nominations are submitted online and are reviewed by a committee of past Billings Award recipients. The committee may recommend multiple or no awards be given. The committee’s recommendation is presented to the Executive Committee of the KHA Board of Directors for approval.

Award Presentation and Recognition

In recognition for distinguished service and outstanding contributions to the health care of Kansans, the awardee(s) will be honored by: Receipt of the Charles S. Billings Award; A video tribute at the Kansas Hospital Association Annual Convention; Coverage in KHA publications and on the KHA Web site; and Media announcements of the award.


Nominations will be accepted online until 11:59 p.m. on June 1. For additional information, call KHA at (785) 233-7436.

Key Dates

  • March – Call for nominations
  • June 1 – Nominations are due
  • June – Nominations reviewed by committee
  • July – Recommendation presented to the Executive Committee for approval
  • September – Awardee(s) honored at KHA Annual Convention

Materials to Be Submitted

All nominations must be submitted electronically.

Questions on the online nomination form:

1. Summary of nominee’s commitment and excellence in service to Kansas hospitals.  (250 words or less)
2. Examples of nominee’s leadership in health care on a local, state and national level.  (250 words or less)
3. Examples of nominee’s service to the Kansas Hospital Association. Include participation on KHA boards, councils and/or committees.  (250 words or less)
4. Other activities or reasons why this nominee should be considered.  (250 words or less)

Charles S. Billings Award Honorees


For more information on this meeting, contact Steve Poage ( or Ronni Anderson ( at (785) 233-7436.
Please join us for a Noon Briefing on Wednesday, Aug. 15, when we will unveil these new forms and provide instructions on how to complete them. Speakers for this webinar include Deborah Stern, senior vice president of clinical services and general counsel, KHA Anne Kindling, former manager of risk management, Stormont Vail Health Kendra Baldridge, director bureau of community health systems, KDHE and Jim Perkins, director health facilities, KDHE.
Please join us for a webinar hosted by the Kansas Hospital Association and the Kansas Medical Society on Thursday, Aug. 16 from 3:00 until 4:00 p.m. to hear from Aetna staff regarding their plans for contracting with providers, networks, credentialing, outreach, and other critical topics important to the successful implementation of their new health plan into KanCare.
For more information, contact Ronni Anderson at (785) 233-7436 or
This seminar will be appropriate for any board member or hospital administrator, and will be offered six times for convenience, each seminar will cover the same material.Locations and Dates:Wichita - June 27Garden City - June 28Parsons - July 19Topeka - Aug. 17Salina - Oct. 17Colby - Oct. 18