HAK
Print

Hospital Auxiliaries of Kansas

HAK Web Page PicThe Hospital Auxiliaries of Kansas was organized on Nov. 9, 1951, with 11 member auxiliaries. At the suggestion of Kansas Hospital Association Board Chairman Bruce Dickson, it was agreed that HAK would meet in November 1952 in conjunction with the KHA Annual Convention. Since that time, HAK member auxiliaries have met annually and concurrently with the KHA Annual Convention and Trade Show. Today, the membership is composed of 59 Kansas hospital auxiliaries, as well as 90 individual associate members who are hospital CEOs, directors of volunteer services, local auxiliary members and other auxiliary friends.

HAK member auxiliaries have 7,551 members. Every year, they contribute 700,000 hours and $1.5 million to Kansas hospitals, as well as more than $180,000 for health career scholarships.

The purpose of the HAK state organization is to: act as a coordinating body for its member auxiliaries, assist in the organization of hospital auxiliaries, develop leadership, promote mutual benefits and objectives of member auxiliaries and work with KHA in the promotion of better health care. HAK also provides a large grassroots network of local auxiliary members to assist KHA.

HAK offers educational opportunities to members twice a year – at each of six spring district meetings and at the annual convention. A program on legislative issues is always included, along with the opportunity for the exchange of ideas between auxiliaries. Information is also shared through a quarterly newsletter sent to all auxiliary presidents and all associate members.

The 2014 Spring AHK District meetings are scheduled as follows:

       District 1
       Emporia - Newman Regional Health Auxiliary
       April 30
       District 2
       Independence - Mercy Hospital Auxiliary
       April 29
       District 3
       Salina - Salina Regional Health Center Auxiliary
       May 1
       District 4
       Pratt - Pratt Regional Medical Center Volunteers
       May 14
       District 5
       Hill City - Graham County Medical Center Volunteers
       May 15
       District 6
       Greensburg - Kiowa County Hospital Auxiliary
       May 13

For information about the Hospital Auxiliaries of Kansas, contact Toni Dreiling, 2014 HAK president, at (620) 684-1988 or Amy Fluke at (785) 233-7436.

Downloads

*
*
   
For more information regarding this webinar, contact Michele Clark at HHC at (785) 235-0763 or mclark@khconline.org.
For more information regarding the KHHRA Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Steve Poage (spoage@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KONL Educational Program, contact Debbie Hall (dhall@khsc.org) or Deborah Stern (dstern@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
For more information regarding the KAHCC Educational Program, contact Jan Fenwick (jfenwick@kha-net.org or Cindy Samuelson (csamuelson@kha-net.org) at (785) 233-7436.
Please join us for a webinar on April 28 from 10:0011:00 a.m. to hear from Dr. Elizabeth Ablah, who will be presenting on the importance of developing a work site wellness strategy for hospitals.